Blue Ridge Sacred Chorale

Timothy Shepard, Director

Timothy Shepard received his Bachelors of Music from Westminster Choir College in Princeton NJ where he participated in performances of major choral works with many world class orchestras including the New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia Symphony Orchestra, Berlin Philharmonic under the batons of today's most noted conductors. He studied choral conducting under Joseph Flummerfelt, Frauke Haasemann, Allan Crowell, and John Kemp. He received his Masters Degree in Choral Conducting at Emory University in Atlanta under Alfred Calabrese.

Mr. Shepard has served as Music Director at churches in NJ, in Camden SC, Charleston SC and most recently Atlanta GA before moving to western North Carolina in August 2008.   Mr. Shepard is presently the Director of Music / Organist at First United Methodist Church in Brevard and lives in Mills River. He is a published composer.  Building on his keen interest in computer technologies and the Internet, he founded and continues to develop, an Internet publishing company of sacred music.

Timothy Shepard, Director

Blue Ridge Sacred Chorale is an auditioned group of singers who love to sing choral music and want to explore the vast world of beautiful music that has been written throughout history. We sing music to lift the spirit, to give flight to the most profound sacred thoughts and words, and to inspire the imagination of singers and listeners alike.

Singers come from Transylvania & Henderson Counties and also sing in other community and church choir; we just can't keep from singing.  We practice Thursday evenings at FUMC Brevard and perform in the beautiful sanctuary noted for its reverberent acoustics.

Blue Ridge Sacred Chorale rehearses for 12-14 rehearsals before each concert, depending on the concert repertoire.  Concerts are scheduled throughout the year, March, November, June, September, December. 

BRSC is registered as a non-profit corporation with NC and have received 501(C)3 determination. We are governed by a Board of Directors.

Adelaide Kersh, accompanist

Adelaide is from New Bern, North Carolina. She attended Greensboro College where she majored in piano and organ and graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with a B.A. in Music. Graduate studies include a Master of Music degree in organ from Indiana University and certification in Music Therapy from East Carolina University.

She moved to Brevard in 1960 to teach in the Music Department at Brevard College where she taught piano, organ, music theory, and served as accompanist for students, faculty, and choral groups. She also held staff positions at the College as Transfer Counselor, Director of Institutional Research, and Registrar. As a church musician, she has served as organist and organist/choir director in area churches in Western North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and Greenville, NC. She has worked as an Activities Director in a nursing home, a Day Care Leader in a summer children’s program, and as a volunteer in mental health crisis intervention, in Hospice, and in the Rise and Shine program.

Adelaide is currently organist at the Lutheran Church of the Good Shepherd in Brevard and is a member of the Blue Ridge Chapter of the American Guild of Organists.